A PITEOUSNESS OF DOVES

???????????????????????????????

Elyse B #46 Aug. 15/13

“Poetry, it can salvage deeply tragic lives.” Lawrence Ferlinghetti

As if called, they came here
Making that noise they make
I’ve not heard it in concert before
Only the coo-coo-cooing of pairs
In Italy and France, when they
sound more like lovers than birds
mourning…but now, gathered
as if to grieve, the noise is
undeniably one of sorrow
It is as if they are trying
to break my heart and I am not
so conceited as to think they
care one whit for how I feel
Still, still – I sob on and can
not bring myself to leave until
they stop and it takes a long,
long time.

Glad you came by to read, be happier still if you left a few words...

